Education

The Education and Professional Development Director has overall responsibility for providing Professional Development and Scholarship opportunities to SVBTA chapter members and student business travel industry professionals of the future. 
The core objectives include: defining the GBTA Academy offerings, providing support to our members in pursuit of professional education certificates & certifications, and offering members local opportunities to learn and earn recertification credits. Additionally, the SVBTA Academy serves to expose students who are pursuing careers in our industry to internship, networking, mentor and scholarship opportunities.
A biennial Education Day event, produced by SVBTA, focuses on the most current popular industry topic and also qualifies for recertification credits. Additionally, SVBTA's Education Committee will facilitate study groups for members planning to achieve success in the "Global Travel Professional (GTP)" accreditation exams being held throughout the year.

Education Committee
Education and Professional Development Director

Katie Paroli
GoPro, Inc.
124 Patricia Drive
Atherton , CA 94027
2096394834

e-mail: education@svbta.org
Education Committee

Melissa Ayala
Yahoo!
701 First Avenue
Sunnyvale , CA 94089
408-505-4854

e-mail: secretary@svbta.org
Education Committee

Makiko Barrett, GTP
Yahoo!
701 First Avenue
Sunnyvale , CA 94089
408-349-5913

e-mail: vicepresident@svbta.org
Education Committee

Lindsey Berg
Joie de Vivre Hotels
501 Geary Street
San Francisco , CA 94102
14083135006

e-mail: lberg@communehotels.com
Education Committee

Cindy Gee
San Mateo Marriott
1770 S. Amphlett Blvd.
San Mateo , CA 94402
6506536041

e-mail: cindyg@marriott-sanmateo.com
Education Committee

Charlene Lennon
Santa Rosa Convention & Visitors Bureau
50 Courthouse Square, Suite 110
Santa Rosa , CA 95404
707-524-2114
707-545-6914
e-mail: charlenel@visitsantarosa.com
Education Committee

Mary Pace, GTP, CCTE
Oracle
500 Oracle Parkway
Redwood Shores , CA 94065
650-506-1928

e-mail: Maryfpace@comcast.net
Education Committee

Mark Tarbutton
TRIPKICKS
5 Embarcadero West
Suite 126
Oakland , CA 94607
509-998-4065

e-mail: mark@tripkicks.com
Education Committee

Janet Wyer, GTP, CTE
Stanford University
3145 Porter Drive
Palo Alto , CA 94304
650-497-6337

e-mail: academy@svbta.org